For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Under the leadership of Joris Ebbers affiliated with the University of Amsterdam section Entrepreneurship and Innovation, nine researchers received an NWO grant of € 630,000 for the research project 'Data-inspired creativity: The use of big data in cross-media creative innovation processes'.

This research project is being carried out in collaboration with media company Talpa, which provides data and insights into the creative process. The interdisciplinary team of researchers consists of scientists from the fields of business administration, communication, computer science, linguistics, media and cultural studies.

For this research project, three post-docs will be selected. Two of them will be placed at the Entrepreneurship and Innovation section of the Amsterdam Business School and the Amsterdam School of Communication Research of the Faculty of Social and Behavioral Sciences (ASCoR).

- Vacancy Postdoctoral researcher in data-inspired creativity
- Vacancy Postdoctoral researcher in innovation processes in digital media companies

Summary research project

Online and offline media consumption generates a wealth of data. Companies use this data to automatically compile consumer profiles and make customized product recommendations. In addition, this data can help companies identify latent consumer demand to support their new product development process.

In this project, we investigate how big data in the rapidly changing media industry can support the development of new media formats in the innovation process. The researchers focus on exploring challenges and opportunities for cross-media companies that can generate valuable insights by combining data from each of the different platforms they own.


Main applicant:
Dr J.J. Ebbers (Universiteit van Amsterdam)

Dr A.F.M. Krijnen (Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam)
Dr S Kruikemeier (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
Dr F.A. Kunneman (Radboud Universiteit)
Dr J.S. Lee (Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam)
Dr ir. F. Lelli (Tilburg University)
Prof. G. van Noort (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
Dr J.M.T. Roos (Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam)
Dr S.C. Sauer (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen)