For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Dr Torsten Jochem (Finance Section, Amsterdam Business School) is the UvA Economics and Business nominee for the prestigious 'UvA Lecturer of the Year' award.

The winner of the 2016-2017 Lecturer of the Year award at UvA Economics and Business is Dr Torsten Jochem, lecturer in Investment and Portfolio Theory. Dr Jochem was congratulated on his victory by the Dean and representatives of the Faculty Student Council (FSR) last week during one of his tutorials.

FSR Lecturer of the Year
From L to R: FSR member Rinus van Grunsven, Dr Torsten Jochem, FSR member Eline Keemink, Dean Han van Dissel

Having won at the faculty level, Torsten is now one of the candidates for UvA Lecturer of the Year. The winner of the UvA Lecturer of the Year award will be announced during the official opening of the academic year. 

Two other lecturers, Dr Wim van Beers, lecturer of Statistics in the first-year of the Economics and Business Bachelor’s programme, and Dr Maurice Koster, lecturer in quantitative economics, also collected a significant amount of votes.

Recognising the role of lecturers

According to the Economics and Business Faculty Student Council “lecturers are the basis of the University. University and student success is a result of the lecturers’ skills, talents, motivation, and passion for education. That’s why it’s important to recognise their work to show how important they are to us. This is the exact purpose of the annual Lecturer of the Year award organized by the Student Council and ASVA Student Union.”

Selection process

This year’s winner was chosen based on student votes, with the size of the lecturer’s programme and the number of students at the lecturer’s faculty also taken into account. Voting took place between 14 and 28 February.